It is All About Cheese

by Joel

I had an extraordinarily delicious weekend. I woke up on Sunday with the heaven-sent inspiration for what I should blog about next. Cheese. I should blog about cheese. And the more I thought about it, I realized there was only one way to go about it. I have an all-time top 10 movie list. Why shouldn’t I have an all-time top 10 list about something I care about as deeply? Yes. Yes, I should. I consider myself merely a novice in the art of fromagery, yet I am an eager pupil. So this list will undoubtedly evolve as I sample new experiences.   Feel free to share your favorites in the comments, or your outrage at Velveeta’s exclusion.

Honorable Mention: Oaxaca-I have memories of this being incredible when we were in Mexico, but need to taste it again soon.

10. Brie-wasn’t crazy about brie until this weekend, when I tried brie with honey. Then I googled brie with honey and discovered this photo. I am agog.

Image

9. Havarti-Another recent romance. I was wooed by a sumptuous havarti with dill. It is pronounced huh-vahr-tee.

a havarti

8. Meunster-I think it is one of the most attractive cheeses. When I worked in the deli at Dillons, this is the one I sampled most frequently. I suppose you could call it my first cheese love.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7. Wensleydale-first, because I can’t say it without hearing Wallace and Gromit in my head. And second, because I had the pleasure of sampling cranberry, apricot, and lemon varieties over Christmas break, and they were all wonderful.

 a Wensleydale-Cheese

6. Cheddar with Stout-look at it. It is a thing of beauty.

guinness_cheese

5. Cabra al Vino-because it translates “Drunken Goat” and because I feel like one when I taste this.

4. Provolone-Provolone is so tried and true. I admit I had sort of taken it for granted. My love for it was starting to waver, until Elizabeth told me to drape a slice over her French onion soup. Oh Provolone! None of the pictures online do you justice!

3. Blueberry Stilton- If you are looking for a birthday present for me:

3645

2. Mozzarella-Because it is dependable and versatile and wonderful. Why aren’t more Italian girls named Mozzarella? I couldn’t blame their fathers if there were.

Image

1. Gouda. Smoked Gouda. “And on the seventh day, God looked at all he had made, and he saw it was very gouda.”

Image

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “It is All About Cheese

  1. It’s a little 2004, but have you ever had baked brie? Brie, with jam of some sort (sometimes nuts) inside a puffed pastry? It gets all oozy and delicious. I think that’s Ryan’s favorite food of all time.

  2. SMOKED GOUDA FOREVER!

    (Cool blog guys!)

  3. Sarah, I have not tried baked brie. And I must.
    A comment from Ashley (Perkins) Watkins! What a pleasant surprise! Thanks for the compliment. 🙂
    -Joel

  4. Tonight we tried an espresso bellavitano that was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

