Panis Angelicus

“Recognize in this bread what hung on the cross, and in this chalice what flowed from His side… whatever was in many and varied ways announced beforehand in the sacrifices of the Old Testament pertains to this one sacrifice which is revealed in the New Testament.”
-St. Augustine

gus patrons

“O how unspeakable is this Sacrament which sets our affections ablaze with charity. … It is the fulfillment of Christ’s Mystical Body.”

“Almighty and Eternal God, behold I come to the Sacrament of Your only-begotten Son, our Lord Jesus Christ. As one sick, I come to the Physician of life; unclean, to the Fountain of mercy; blind, to the Light of eternal splendor; poor and needy, to the Lord of heaven and earth. Therefore, I beg of You, through Your infinite mercy and generosity, heal my weakness, wash my uncleanness, give light to my blindness, enrich my poverty, and clothe my nakedness. May I thus receive the Bread of Angels, the King of Kings, the Lord of Lords, with such reverence and humility, contrition and devotion, purity and faith, purpose and intention, as shall aid my soul’s salvation …”

“The Eucharist is the Sacrament of Love; It signifies Love, It produces love. The Eucharist is the consummation of the whole spiritual life.”
-St. Thomas Aquinas

Gus received his First Communion on Sunday. And at the end of the day, I found myself thinking about how quickly it has all flown by. How it didn’t seem that long ago we were all together for Gus’ first sacrament.

baptism

We have been so blest with the supportive prayers and presence of our kids’ godparents. Gus couldn’t stop wiggling and smiling during facetime with Uncle Daniel. It was morning here, but for Daniel overseas, it was the end of a long day. He was clearly tired, but took the time to really make Gus feel important. It will be one of my favorite memories from Gus’ special day.

auntpatty
Aunt Patty drove from Kansas City with her daughter Grace. When Gus was born, Jackie offered her pain for Patty’s little girl who was in surgery, and Patty offered her heartache for her new godson. It was so special to have both of them celebrating with us on Sunday.

And my final fellow member of Team Gus, my bride. We don’t know what the future holds. But we’ll face it together. And we’ll continue to rely on His grace and mercy.

family

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Panis Angelicus

  1. Happy First Communion to Gus! I loved all of the pictures, especially the ones of his baptism. Time flies!

  2. momof4boys

    Congratulations Gus!
    I must share the words of wisdom from Patty’s son, Joshua, who will make his First Communion next weekend. All of this was delivered in a straightforward, Joshua like manner with little fluctuation of voice or facial expression.

    Me: “So Joshua, are you excited about your First Communion?”
    Joshua: “Yah.”
    Me: “Why are you excited about it?”
    Joshua: “Because when I made my First Reconciliation, it was a really great feeling and I’m thinking it might be like that again. I’m looking forward to that great feeling again.”

    We talked about the possibility that he might not have those feelings, but it wouldn’t make Jesus’s Presence any less. To which he replied, “Yah.” He gets it.

Leave a Reply

