Paschal Angelo

Paschal Angelo Arnold

Born June 1st, 5:05 p.m.

8 lbs. 8 oz. 19 ½ inches long
(I got this post ready this weekend and had put in a placeholder weight and length, and they ended up being spot on! What are the odds of that?!)

packy

I realize these are all pretty much the same photo. But to this proud papa, I couldn’t decide amongst all the cuteness (and the expressive Italian hand gestures already!)

His patron saints:

St. Paschal Baylon-patron saint of cooks. Franciscan friar who was assigned kitchen duty, when what he really wanted to do was pray in the chapel. The host would appear floating in the kitchen. Paschal would kneel to worship our Lord while angels prepared the meals.

img-Saint-Pascal-Baylon

Paschal shares a name with one of his little cousins that our family lost to miscarriage and heaven gained, who now intercedes for us.

St. John XXIII-Born Angelo Roncalli. Saved thousands of Jews during WWII. Joyful and humorous pope who opened Vatican II. Appointed first cardinals to Japan, the Philippines, Africa, and Mexico.

angelo

“Consult not your fears but your hopes and your dreams. Think not about your frustrations, but about your unfulfilled potential. Concern yourself not with what you tried and failed in, but with what it is still possible for you to do.”

Angelo is also a family name- Jackie’s grandfather Michael Angelo Bevilacqua, and my great-grandfather, Angelo Pollice.

All went well during the birth. Jackie called me at work. I was home by 12:30. Jackie’s mom came to pick up the other kids around 1:30. Midwife arrived around 3:30. Packy arrived around 5. By 6:30, it was just us and our new baby enjoying the quiet of our home. Jackie did have 2 calls from telemarketers during that time, and you will be very disappointed to hear she did not take advantage of this golden opportunity to say, “I’m in labor right now” to silence their sales pitches.

Please keep us in your prayers. If you would like something specific to pray for, Packy is a little tongue-tied, so please pray that he will be able to nurse well.

They say the love of parents is not a finite amount that must be divided when a new child arrives. Rather, a new child multiplies the love that already existed in the family. I have always marveled at this multiplication of love, and I feel it acutely tonight. Packy looks so much like Gus when he was born. It is so surreal, like getting to go through a time machine and hold Gus again. I look at my new son, and my love for Gus increases, as I remember how small and helpless he once was. And my love for Packy grows as I think of the young man he will become, all the memories we will have together. And my love for all my other kids is magnified as I hear their enthusiasm over the phone, and as I imagine what kind of big brothers and big sister they will be. And my love for my bride overflows, as I look at this strong woman who has blest me with these wonderful souls, and has made me a father.

my bride

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Paschal Angelo

  1. momof4boys

    Hooray!!! Congrats! He is beautiful! I can’t wait to cuddle him!

  2. michelle

    most excellent! congratulations to you all!! what beautiful name choices, sounds like this young man has much to live up to.

  3. Janice Neville

    Congratulations Joel and Jacque!!!! Enjoy, Enjoy. They grow up way too fast!!!! So glad all went well.

Leave a Reply

